Class Detail


Yoga Citta Vitti Nirodah

Ashtanga Yoga Practice

The Ashtanga Yoga is a dynamic and progressive serie of postures linked by the breath. By practicing breathing (Ujjay breath), postures (asanas) and look (Dristi) we cultivate an awareness of the senses and the body leading to a deep inner listening. Regular practice improves circulation, purifies, strengthens and balances the body and mind. This gives us a lighter and stronger body and a calm and quiet mind.

An Ashtanga Yoga class begins with Surya Namaskar (Sun Salutations), and continue with a serie of postures (Asanas) standing and sitting. Those are always the same and run in the same order, each session allows the students to learn by heart the sequence to enable them to eventually execute this series at their own pace according to their own breathing.


Evolution in the Practice

Ashtanga Yoga classes can be taught in different ways:
Beginners class: 60 minutes, introducing postures from the primary series.
Intermediate class: 90 minutes, deep work on the asanas of the primary series.
Advanced: Mysore style. The duration of the class is according to the training and breathing of each one. Maricha Dumont is present to help you during the asanas, to spot you and give you advices, but students must know the primary series order by heart.


The 8 limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

The Ashanga Yoga is based on the teachings of the great sage Patanjali who has lived there more than 2000 years, His steadies have exposed the foundations of modern yoga called ” Yoga Sutras “.

This is a science that alters our perception beyond the outside world.

The terms and Ashtanga Yoga comes from Sanskrit, the language of the sacred texts of India.

” Ashto ” means eight and ” Anga ” members. The literal meaning is Yoga to eight members. According to Patanjali there are eight steps in Yoga :

  • Ethical principles ( Yamas )
  • Rules to respect life ( Nyamas )
  • Study of Yoga postures ( Asanas )
  • Control of breathing ( Pranayama )
  • Control of the senses ( Pratyhara )
  • Concentration ( Dharana )
  • Meditation ( Dhyana )
  • Enlightenment ( Samadhi, Nirvana)

The eight steps of Ashtanga Yoga are the backbone of this systematic approach. All current forms of Hatha Yoga have a reference to Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.

Thus, we can say that the term Ashtanga Yoga is the classic yoga practice.

The particular form of Ashtanga Yoga was born in Mysore, a small town in South India in Karnataka. The master of this discipline is Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. From the ancient text called Yoga Korunta found in a library in Calcutta.

Sri K. Patthabi Jois and his guru Krishnamacharya worked to maintain this dynamic form of yoga. They wanted Ashtanga Yoga to meet the classical principles.


Class Timetable

  Open Time Close Time Trainer Address
Monday 8:00 am 9:00 am Le Tigre Rive Gauche 101 Rue du Cherche-Midi, 75006 Paris
Monday 11:00 am 12:15 pm Paris Yoga Shala 9 Rue Magellan, 75008 Paris
8:00 am - 9:00 am - with Le Tigre Rive Gauche - at 101 Rue du Cherche-Midi, 75006 Paris
11:00 am - 12:15 pm - with Paris Yoga Shala - at 9 Rue Magellan, 75008 Paris